Whole30 – Day 1

Standard

Yesterday was my first day back on the Whole30, and I thought that making the decision to start back up on Mother’s Day would be a terrible idea, given that I was going to BBQ at my mother’s house, have my niece’s birthday in a few weeks, Memorial Day weekend coming up, and just the warmer weather and all the BBQ’s that come along with that. I said this to my husband, and he told me just to do it and commit. If it was something I wanted to do, that I would do it through all those challenges. Let’s hope he is right!

I started off my day GREAT yesterday. As you guys already know, my husband is a personal trainer. He put together a new 8 week programming for me that I just started up and am really excited about. I haven’t lifted consistently in months, but if I am going to focus my attention on my Whole30, I should pair that with a good workout plan too! The programming has two periods, the first month and the second month, and workouts broken out by day. I will share these daily as I get through them, as well as my meal plan for the day.

Day 1 workout:

Warmup:

Walk 10 minutes 3.5% incline at 3.5 mph

Legs: 
Bulgarian Split Squat: 4 sets 8 reps each leg, 20# barbell
Leg Extension: 5 sets 10 reps each leg, 30#
One Leg Hamstring Curl: 3 sets 8 reps each leg, 20#
Stiff-Leg Dead Lift: 3 sets 10 reps, 45#
Standing Calf Raise: 4 sets 20 reps, 40#
 
Day 1 meals:
Breakfast:
– 1 large egg, 1 large egg white
– Grilled pollo sabroso (Chicken, oregano, coconut aminos, garlic, onion powder, sazon)
– Chopped green bell peppers and onions
– 2 medium strawberries
Image
 
Late Lunch/Dinner:
– Shell steak (seasoned with Mrs. Dash)
– Grilled vegetables (red onion, yellow onion, bell pepper, mushroom)
– Sweet potato (seasoned with Mrs. Dash and olive oil)
Image
 
Dessert:
Yes, I know you’re not really supposed to have dessert or make paleo approved things, but this is only fruit, so I am allowing myself that pass! If you don’t have a Dole yonana’s maker, I strongly suggest it! No added sugar, no added flavors, just pure frozen fruit!
– 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
– 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
Image
 
Not pictured here was a plate of homemade paleo ranch dip (olive oil, egg, dry mustard, chives, Mrs. Dash) and raw veggies (carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, peppers).
 
Yesterday was a great success! I avoided Sangria, spanish rice and anything else that could have happened. I am proud and ready to take on day 2!
 
Keep calm, and whole 30 on!
-Fitfatfabulous
Leave a Reply

