What’s On Your Plate?

Standard

The reason why I started this blog was to document the next 16 weeks of my journey before my wedding. I started an online weight loss competition with some females I know in order to have some incentive to lose weight and that just spiraled into a few other ideas, like this blog.

As part of that competition, I am starting my new food and workout plan on Saturday when the contest kicks off. Basically I will be following the 3-1-2-1 Diet by Dolvett Quince. I bought this book probably a week ago and have already read it twice! The best part is, you are able to cheat, twice per week.

dolvett300

I am a huge fan of Dolvett and The Biggest Loser so when I heard he was writing a book, it was a no-brainer that I was getting myself a copy. I like the way that he wrote this, its super easy to read, SO encouraging and seems like a diet that anyone can do.

I have tried eating clean many times though, and I’m GOOD at it for a few weeks, and then something triggers me to go off the deep end into a serious binge. Can anyone relate? Is it just me? Bueller?? This time will be different though. I have made a commitment to myself, and all of you to be honest and I travel this journey!

Basically you eat clean for 3 days, on the 4th day you get a cheat day, eat clean for 2 more days and on the 7th day, you get another cheat. Pairing this with his workout routine at least 3-4 days a week, and I should see some pretty significant weight loss, and also focus on my shape! Sign me up, I’m GAME!

This week I have been just focusing on having 3 meals and two snacks. So far so good. This is what I have been having for lunch. My take on SkinnyTaste(TM) pepper steak. What do you think?

Pepper Steak, Yuca with Garlic Sauce and a Hard Boiled Egg

Pepper Steak, Yuca with Garlic Sauce and a Hard Boiled Egg

Pepper Steak

Servings: 3

Calories: 210 • Fat: 5 g • Protein: 20 g • Carb: 19 g

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz top round beef, trimmed to 1/4″
  • 1 tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • olive oil pam
  • 1 large onion, sliced into thin strips
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1 red bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1 orange bell pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 1 medium zucchini, peeled into thin strips

Directions:

Slice meat into thin slices with the grain. Cut each strip across the grain about 1″ long so you have small thin slices. Place in a bowl and add coconut aminos, worcestershire, and garlic. Set aside.

Heat the pan on high heat. Spray your pam and add the beef spreading evenly. Cook shortly letting the beef brown. Using a wooden spoon, stir meat, cooking another 2 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Add an additional spray of pam to the pan and add peppers, onion, and zucchini and cook about 2 minutes. Return beef to the pan, add the sauce and stir fry about 30 seconds until slightly thickened.

On the side I had another 1/2c. of the yuca I had for dinner last night, and a hard boiled egg.

Total nutrition facts for the whole lunch were:

After lunch, I went to CVS to grab some snacks for the rest of the week. I have a chocolate problem, and on cheat days, I’ll be able to have dark chocolate for snack! I found the cheapest (I am planning a wedding – don’t judge) dark chocolate bar I could find, and it happens to be gluten free, another focus I am working on. I secretly hope I hate it so I will only have a piece every so often ha! I will say though, this blog is keeping me honest and helping keep track of what I have been eating.

chocolate

The serving size of this chocolate bar is 2, but I broke it down into 5 servinges, spread the love as much as possible, hopefully it will last me a while!

Thank you guys for reading, whoever you are. You are inspiring me to keep blogging, keep writing, and keep balancing being fit, fat and fabulous ;).

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

