What’s For Dinner?

Standard

Dinner 12/10/13

Tonight’s dinner was inspired by one of my favorite recipe sites SkinnyTaste(TM). This site is operated by a woman named Gina who makes all her recipes “low fat”. I make this stuff for my fiance all the time and no one knows that its “low fat”. Great recipes for the whole family will love! Definitely check her out at www.skinnytaste.com. You will see a bunch of my recipes come from her site!

Tonight’s dish consisted of my take on SkinnyTaste’s “Pollo Sabroso”. This literally means “Delicious Chicken” in Spanish, and that’s exactly what it was! The recipe is below (this has been updated from the original per the ingredients I used).

Pollo Sabroso

Servings: 3
Calories: 168 • Fat: 0 g • Protein: 31 g • Carb: 2 g

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb boneless, skinless, thin cut, chicken breasts
  • 1 tbsp lite rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 packet Sazon
  • 2 tsp Adobo (in Spanish aisle)
  • dried parsley

Directions:

Season chicken with vinegar and soy sauce. Add sazon, a generous amount of adobo and oregano and mix well. Broil  on low until chicken is cooked through, careful not to burn.

Let me just tell you, the broiler is my NEW favorite friend. In our old apartment, we had an older stove that didn’t have a broiler underneath. I think today is my first time ever using one, and it will be used ALL the time. The chicken was so juicy and moist, and its was thin cut chicken breasts! That doesn’t happen! Great recipe, totally worth a try!

In addition to the chicken, I made peas, I just threw some Mrs. Dash “Onion and Herb” salt free seasoning on them, and some boiled yucca with a little extra virgin olive oil and garlic. Delicious, simple and easy!

Oh, and what dinner is complete without a nice tall glass of water, in a *SWEET* glass no less 🙂

photo (2)

Leave a Reply

